Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Town Councillor Adrian Hartman resigns, by-election to be held June 29

Former Town councillor Adrian Hartman
T. Lucas file photo

Toni Lucas

Council for the Town of Pincher Creek announced the resignation of Councillor Adrian Hartman during their regular meeting on Monday evening, May 11.  Administration received his resignation on May 8.  At the same meeting it was decided by council that a by-election for Hartman's vacated seat will be  held on June 29, 2015 with a nomination day scheduled for June 1, 2015.

Councillor Hartman sat on a number of committees and council has done some reorganization to make sure that the positions he held are covered.  Therefore, councillor Wayne Elliott has been appointed to the Municipal Development and Subdivision Authority, councillor Lorne Jackson has been appointed to the Economic Development Committee and Recycling Committee,  Mayor Don Anderberg has been appointed to the Broadband Steering Committee, and Councillor Doug Thornton has been appointed to the Housing Committee.  Hartman was also serving as Deputy Mayor, and Councillor Thornton will finish Hartman's term in that position.

Mayor Don Anderberg explained that Hartman was Branch Manager with Alberta Treasury Branch (ATB) in Pincher Creek and was transferred to fill an ATB position in Drumheller.  Hartman was voted in for a four year term in October 2013.  Hartman was not in attendance at this meeting.

Mayor Don Anderberg read a letter from Hartman that said in part "I wanted to make it known that this has been one of the best experiences I have had the pleasure to be part of in the world of politics." Hartman expressed his appreciation for the chance to be on council and thanked the staff and administration. "From an outside perspective I had no idea the sheer amount of duties and work that goes on behind the scenes and the team there does an incredible job and made my time on council as seamless as possible while learning the ins and outs of the position."

Related story:
New Town of Pincher Creek Council sworn in

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Comments are moderated before being published. Please be civil.

Infinite Scroll