Tuesday, May 28, 2013

University of Lethbridge to celebrate Spring Convocation May 30 - 31

This week, with 1,438 students eligible to graduate, the University of Lethbridge campus will be a busy place as Spring Convocation preparations ramp up.

Ceremonies take place Thursday, May 30 and Friday, May 31 in the 1st Choice Savings Centre for Sport and Wellness beginning at 9:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. each day.

All ceremonies are free to the public.

The two-day, four-ceremony event draws several thousand guests who come from all over the world to see their family members and friends graduate.

A small army of employees and faculty, staff, community and student volunteers make sure everything runs smoothly.

Graduands and platform guests will be assembling in various locations in the 1st Choice Savings Centre and the Students’ Union Building due to construction around the SU Building and the University Library.

2013 Academic Medal Recipients

This year, 15 deserving students will receive medals that acknowledge their significant academic achievements, including the Governor General’s Gold and Silver Medals for overall academic excellence, along with medals from specific Faculties and the School of Graduate Studies.

The diverse group of medal recipients come from around the world and close to home, including Lethbridge, Calgary, Enchant, Rocky Mountain House and Medicine Hat AB; Jaffray and Cranbrook, BC; Herbert, SK; Winnipeg, MB; Milton, ON; Les Sables d’Olonne, France; and Ibadan, Nigeria.

A complete list of the medal recipients and just some of their accomplishments can be found here:

Honorary Degree Recipients

This year, four individuals with diverse career and community service experiences will receive an Honorary Degree from the University of Lethbridge.

Richard (Rick) Casson -- Ceremony 1 (May 30, morning)

The former Manager of University of Lethbridge Printing Services, Rick Casson has served the University, his home community of Picture Butte, the people of southern Alberta and Canada as a whole over the course of his 30-plus year municipal and federal political career. Named to the Queens Privy Council for Canada in 2010, Casson has also been a strong advocate for the support of Multiple Sclerosis research, raising $122,000 through the MS Society over the last seven years.

Neil Wittmann -- Ceremony 2 (May 30, afternoon)

Lethbridge Collegiate Institute graduate Neil Wittmann has long been respected as one of the top litigators in the province of Alberta, serving as an exceptional teacher and mentor to junior lawyers and erstwhile champion of ethical litigation. As Chief Justice of the Court of Queen’s Bench in the Province of Alberta, Wittmann conducts the majority of his work behind the scenes, continually working to better the practice of law in the province.

Rivka Golani -- Ceremony 3 (May 31, morning)

A world-class musician, performer, teacher and promoter of classical music, Rivka Golani is among the top-five viola soloists in the world and a major contributor to the advancement of classical music in southern Alberta, where she founded the Fort Macleod International Festival. A dedicated and successful teacher, Golani is also a champion of southern Alberta composers, giving young musicians the opportunity to showcase their talents and taking their works to national and international audiences.

Robert Turner -- Ceremony 4 (May 31, afternoon)

As Chair of the Board of Governors for the University of Lethbridge for six years (2006-2012), Robert Turner helped guide the University through an era of significant change and growth, including the creation of a new Strategic Plan, a successful fundraising campaign and a major expansion of campus services. Turner recruited an outstanding group of Board members, ensuring gender balance, a Pan-Alberta membership and the skills necessary to run an emerging comprehensive university. His extensive volunteer contributions reflect the values of the University of Lethbridge and continue to impact at the local, provincial and national level.

Ingrid Speaker Medal for Distinguished Research, Scholarship or Performance -- Dr. Cynthia Chambers
Professor of Education Dr. Cynthia Chambers is a leading figure in Canadian curriculum and literacy studies, and the enduring influence of her research has extended locally and around the world.

Distinguished Teaching Award -- Dr. Hadi Kharaghani
Combining dedication, wit and an unparalleled mathematical knowledge, Dr. Hadi Kharaghani (Mathematics and Computer Science) helps students at every level of ability, pushing them to reach their potential.

Kharaghani, a professor in the Department of Mathematics who has shaped the lives of many aspiring scientists and engineers, is the 2013 Distinguished Teaching Award recipient.

Volunteer Award -- Alberta Summer Games Team
Thanks to the dedicated volunteer work of Jochen Bocksnick, Deb Marek, Cheryl Meheden and Nancy Walker, for four days in July 2012, over 2,600 athletes came to Lethbridge to compete in the 2012 Alberta Summer Games.

Bocksnick, Marek, Meheden and Walker sat on the Board of Directors for the games as well as managing their own specific portfolios. The Senate of the University of Lethbridge is proud to recognize their service with the 2013 University of Lethbridge Volunteer Award.

Board of Governors Teaching Chair -- Dr. Harold Jansen
Regarded as one of the country’s top political science experts, Dr. Harold Jansen is a leader in his field, respected for his vast knowledge of Alberta politics and government.

With research interests that speak to the future of politics and the influence that the Internet plays on political communication in Canada, Jansen is considered to be an active and innovative researcher, constantly pushing the boundaries of his discipline. The University of Lethbridge is proud to recognize Jansen as the Board of Governors Teaching Chair for 2013. His two-year appointment will commence July 1,

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Comments are moderated before being published. Please be civil.

Infinite Scroll