Thursday, October 30, 2014

Government of Alberta announces 2014 disaster recovery programs

June 2014 flooding at Beaver Creek (west of Pincher Creek)
Brent and Gloria Barbero file photo

The Government of Alberta has announced disaster recovery programs for southwestern Alberta areas affected by the rainfall event of June 16-23, 2014.

Principal homeowners, tenants, landlords, condo associations, small business owners,  agricultural operations, not-for-profit organizations, and institutions who suffered uninsurable property damage or loss between June 16 and June 23, 2014 in one of the communities below may be eligible to apply for 2014 DRP assistance.

Town of Pincher Creek
Municipality of Crowsnest Pass
MD of Pincher Creek No. 9
Blood Indian Reserve No. 148
The lands of the Piikani First Nation
City of Lethbridge
Town of Cardston
Town of Claresholm
Town of Coaldale
Town of Coalhurst
Town of Fort McLeod
Town of Granum
Town of Magrath
Town of Nanton
MD of Ranchland No. 66
MD of Taber
MD Willow Creek, No. 26
Lethbridge County

According to the government's press release "Disaster recovery programs (DRPs) provide financial assistance for uninsurable property damage, loss and other expenses incurred as the result of a disaster. DRPs do not replace private insurance coverage. We encourage potential applicants to pursue their own insurance options first as DRPs cannot assist with all types of damages or loss and may not cover damages or loss at full replacement value. Rather, DRPs exist as a final resort for funding to help restore essential property back to basic, pre-disaster functional condition."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Comments are moderated before being published. Please be civil.

Infinite Scroll