Sunday, September 27, 2015

Honouring Alberta’s fallen heroes

Alberta Government

Today, Albertans join the hundreds of police and peace officers at the Alberta Legislature to remember, recognize and pay their respects to the 100 officers who have died in Alberta in the line of duty since 1876.

This year, the tragic loss of RCMP Const. David Wynn and EPS Const. Daniel Woodall is being recognized.

The ceremony also marks two important anniversaries: 25 years since the fatal shooting of EPS Const. Ezio Faraone and10 years since four RCMP officers, Const. Peter Schiemann, Const. Brock Myrol, Const. Leo Johnston and Const. Anthony Gordon were killed in the line of duty in Mayerthorpe.

“Each and every day police and peace officers are prepared to make the ultimate sacrifice to keep us safe. All police and peace officers have my heartfelt and unending respect and gratitude for the work they do.” - Kathleen Ganley, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General

This day coincides with the National Police and Peace Officer Memorial Day ceremony held at Parliament Hill in Ottawa.

Related information
Honour Roll: Alberta's Fallen Officers (pdf)
Alberta's Police and Peace Officers' Memorial Day

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Comments are moderated before being published. Please be civil.

Infinite Scroll