Sunday, November 1, 2015

First Student Pincher Creek rewards local poster artists

^ FSCP's Sharon Roberts, Megan Bruder, Brett Hiebert, Neisha Gelber, St. Michael's Principal Don Kuchison

Toni Lucas

Five local students won a Bus Safety Poster Contest sponsored by First Student Pincher Creek (FSPC). On Tuesday, October 27, FSCP Location Manager Sharon Roberts was delighted to award one local student in each grade from 1-5 with a $15 gift card from Tim Hortons.  Roberts said the entries she received were very good.  "It made it hard to choose." St. Michael's School students awarded a prize were Neisha Gelber (grade 2), Megan Bruder (grade 4) Brett Hiebert (grade 5).  Canyon School winners included Cameron Billington (grade 1), and Mallory Nelson (grade 3).

Sharon Roberts, Cameron Billington, and Mallory Nelson
Everyone who entered had their posters returned to them and Roberts encouraged anyone who entered  the contest to consider sending their poster to the Alberta Student Transportation Advisory Council for further consideration.   The two poster contests complement one another and are meant to promote school bus safety week, which occurred October 18 to 24 this year.  Each poster had to include a school bus and an understanding about school bus safety rules.  "Making the posters really makes the kids think about the rules," said Roberts.

Poster by Brett Hiebert

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Comments are moderated before being published. Please be civil.

Infinite Scroll